AIDS InfoNet Logo
This website is certified by Health On the Net Foundation. Click to verify.
This site complies with the HONcode standard for trustworthy health information:
verify here.

The Henry J. Kaiser Family Foundation
Site of the Week
November 2003

The Health Leader Award 2006
The Health Leader Award 2006

The HOPE Reward

Med411.com Medical Award

HealthAtoZ.com Featured Site Award

BuscaSalud.com

IBS Tales Hope Award

HealingWell.com Editor's Choice Award

Listed in Listed in Treasures of the Internet


AIDS InfoNet Logo.  The AIDS InfoNet - Reliable, Up-to-Date AIDS Treatment Information
International Association of Providers of AIDS Care
Reviewed February 24, 2014

Fact Sheet 125

АНАЛИЗ НА ВИРУСНУЮ НАГРУЗКУ


 


• ЧТО ТАКОЕ ВИРУСНАЯ НАГРУЗКА?
• КАК ИСПОЛЬЗОВАТЬ ТЕСТ?
• КАК ИЗМЕРЯЮТСЯ ИЗМЕНЕНИЯ ВИРУСНОЙ НАГРУЗКИ?
• «ПУНКТИРЫ» ВИРУСНОЙ НАГРУЗКИ
• ЧТО ОЗНАЧАЮТ ЦИФРЫ?
• СУЩЕСТВУЮТ ЛИ ПРОБЛЕМЫ, СВЯЗАННЫЕ С АНАЛИЗОМ НА ВИРУСНУЮ НАГРУЗКУ?


 

ЧТО ТАКОЕ ВИРУСНАЯ НАГРУЗКА?


Анализ на вирусную нагрузку измеряет количество ВИЧ у тебя в крови. Есть различные техники, чтобы сделать такой анализ:


• Метод реакции полимеразной цепи (РСR) использует энзим для увеличения ВИЧ в пробе крови. Потом путем химической реакции вирус маркируется. Маркеры измеряются и используются для подсчета количества вируса. Компании «Roche» и «Abbott» производят такие виды тестов.

• Метод разветвленной ДНК (bDNA) использует вещество, которое в пробе крови выделяет свет. Оно соединяется с частицами ВИЧ. Замеряется свечение, которое потом переводится в количество вируса. Такие анализы производит компания «Bayer».

• Метод увеличения на основе последовательности нуклеиновой кислоты (NASBA) увеличивает белок вируса, чтобы установить его количество. Такие анализы выпускает «Merieux».


Различные способы анализа часто дают разные результаты при анализе одной и той же пробы. Поскольку тесты отличаются, для измерения вирусной нагрузки во времени тебе лучше постоянно производить анализ при помощи одного и того же вида тестов.


Вирусная нагрузка измеряется копиями ВИЧ в одном миллиметре крови. Анализы считают до 1 миллиона копий, и производители постоянно повышают их чувствительность. Первый тест bDNA мог обнаружить до 10000 копий. Тесты второго поколения были способны измерить до 500 копий. Сегодня существуют ультрачувствительные тесты для исследований, которые способны определить вирусную нагрузку до менее 5 копий.


Наилучшим результатом анализа вирусной нагрузки является «неопределимая». Это не означает, что у тебя в крови нет вируса, это означает, что его просто недостаточно для того, чтобы тест мог его определить и посчитать. В первых тестах «неопределимая» нагрузка могла достигать 9999 копий! «Неопределимость» зависит от чувствительности теста, который используется для анализа пробы крови.

Раньше все анализы на вирусную нагрузку осуществлялись с замороженными образцами крови. Были получены хорошие результаты при использовании высушенных образцов. Это способно уменьшить расходы на морозильное оборудование и доставку.



КАК ИСПОЛЬЗОВАТЬ ТЕСТ?


Анализ на вирусную нагрузку необходим в таких областях:


• Медицинскими исследователями анализ использовался для того, чтобы доказать, что ВИЧ никогда не бывает «латентным», он постоянно размножается. Многие пациенты без симптомов СПИДа и высоким количеством СД4 также имели высокую вирусную нагрузку. Если бы вирус был латентным, анализ бы не обнаружил ВИЧ в крови.

• Анализ может использоваться в диагностике, поскольку он способен определить вирусную нагрузку уже через несколько дней после инфицирования ВИЧ. Это лучше, чем стандартный тест на ВИЧ (тест на антитела), который может быть «отрицательным» от 2 до 6 месяцев после инфицирования. (См. Брошюру 102, где приведена дальнейшая информация об анализах на антитела к ВИЧ.)

• При прогнозировании анализ на вирусную нагрузку может помочь предсказать, как долго человек будет оставаться здоровым. Чем выше вирусная нагрузка, тем быстрее будет прогрессировать ВИЧ.

• В профилактике тест на вирусную нагрузку предсказывает, насколько просто передать ВИЧ от одного человека к другому. Чем выше вирусная нагрузка, тем выше риск передачи ВИЧ.

• И, наконец, основная ценность теста на вирусную нагрузку состоит в его помощи управлять лечением, поскольку он показывает, насколько антиретровирусные препараты контролируют вирус. Действующие протоколы рекомендуют измерение базовой линии (до начала терапии) для вирусной нагрузки. Препарат «работает», если он снижает вирусную нагрузку минимум на 90% на протяжении 8 недель. Вирусная нагрузка должна продолжать снижаться до менее 50 копий по истечении 6 месяцев. Вирусную нагрузку необходимо измерять на протяжении 2-8 недель после начала или смены терапии, а потом – каждые 3-4 месяца.



КАК ИЗМЕРЯЮТСЯ ИЗМЕНЕНИЯ ВИРУСНОЙ НАГРУЗКИ?


Повторные анализы одного и того же образца крови могут давать результаты, которые изменяются с применением коэффициента 3. Это означает, что значимым изменением будет снижение к менее 1/3 или повышение более чем в 3 раза по сравнению с предыдущим результатом. Например, изменение от
200 000 до 600 000 находится в пределах нормального допустимого колебания результатов. Снижение от 50 000 до 10 000 будет значимым. Наиболее важным изменением является достижение неопределимой вирусной нагрузки.

Изменения вирусной нагрузки часто описываются как «порядковые» изменения. Это относится к научному употреблению термина, который означает «в 10 раз». Например, снижение в 2 порядка означает падение в 102 или 100 раз.



«ПУНКТИРЫ» ВИРУСНОЙ НАГРУЗКИ


Не так давно ученые обратили внимание, что вирусная нагрузка некоторых пациентов поднималась от неопределимой до низкого уровня (как правило, ниже 500), а потом возвращалась на неопределимый уровень. Более внимательное изучение показало, что такие «пунктиры» не являются показателями развития резистентности вируса.



ЧТО ОЗНАЧАЮТ ЦИФРЫ?


Не существует никаких «волшебных» цифр для вирусной нагрузки. Нам неизвестно, насколько долго ты сможешь оставаться здоровым при определенном уровне вирусной нагрузки. На данный момент мы уверены только в том, что чем ниже нагрузка, тем лучше, что, вероятно, означает более продолжительную и здоровую жизнь.


Протоколы по лечению США (См. Брошюру 404) настаивают, что всем, у кого вирусная нагрузка выше 100 000, необходимо предлагать начать терапию.


Некоторые уверены, что если у них уровень вирусной нагрузки неопределим, они не могут передать ВИЧ другому человеку. Это неправда. Не существует «безопасного» уровня вирусной нагрузки. Хотя риск уменьшается, ты способен передать ВИЧ другому человеку даже при неопределимой вирусной нагрузке.



СУЩЕСТВУЮТ ЛИ ПРОБЛЕМЫ, СВЯЗАННЫЕ С АНАЛИЗОМ НА ВИРУСНУЮ НАГРУЗКУ?


Есть два соображения, вызывающие опасения, в связи с вирусной нагрузкой:


• Только 2% ВИЧ в твоем организме находится в крови. Анализ на вирусную нагрузку не измеряет, сколько ВИЧ есть в тканях тела, таких как лимфоузлы, селезенка или мозг. Уровень ВИЧ в лимфотканях и сперме снижается по мере снижения содержания вируса в крови, но это происходит не одновременно и не в одинаковых масштабах.

• Результаты анализов на вирусную нагрузку можно выбросить, если твой организм сражается с инфекцией или ты только что подвергся иммунизации (например, делали прививки от гриппа). Не стоит сдавать кровь на вирусную нагрузку до истечения минимум четырех недель после перенесенной инфекции или иммунизации.


Back to Fact Sheet Categories



New Mexico AIDS Education and Training Center The University of New Mexico Health Sciences Center International Association of Providers of AIDS Care

 

The AIDS InfoNet is a project of the New Mexico AIDS Education and Training Center at the University of New Mexico Health Sciences Center,
and the International Association of Providers of AIDS Care.
webmaster@aidsinfonet.org

 

United States National Library of Medicine

Partially funded by the National Library of Medicine



Search Our Site
Newest Fact Sheets
Print This Fact Sheet
You can print this fact sheet on a single page in Adobe Acrobat (.pdf) format. Click on the links below to open the document in your browser and then print it.
 Adobe Acrobat PDF

You can print directly from your browser using the link below. The printout will probably go onto a second page.
 Print Version (Web)

Monthly E-mail Updates

The InfoNet updates its Fact Sheets frequently. A listing of each month's changes is posted to several e-mail lists.

If you would like to receive this monthly update by personal e-mail, please provide your e-mail address below, and click on the "Submit" button.



Subscribe
Unsubscribe

AIDS InfoNet Logo
This website is certified by Health On the Net Foundation. Click to verify.
This site complies with the HONcode standard for trustworthy health information:
verify here.

The Henry J. Kaiser Family Foundation
Site of the Week
November 2003

The Health Leader Award 2006
The Health Leader Award 2006

The HOPE Reward

Med411.com Medical Award

HealthAtoZ.com Featured Site Award

BuscaSalud.com

IBS Tales Hope Award

HealingWell.com Editor's Choice Award

Listed in Listed in Treasures of the Internet


AIDS InfoNet Logo.  The AIDS InfoNet - Reliable, Up-to-Date AIDS Treatment Information
International Association of Providers of AIDS Care
Reviewed February 24, 2014

Fact Sheet 125

Viral Load Tests


WHAT IS VIRAL LOAD?
HOW IS THE TEST USED?
HOW ARE CHANGES IN VIRAL LOAD MEASURED?
VIRAL LOAD "BLIPS"
WHAT DO THE NUMBERS MEAN?
ARE THERE PROBLEMS WITH THE VIRAL LOAD TEST?

 


WHAT IS VIRAL LOAD?

The viral load test measures the amount of HIV virus in your blood. There are different techniques for doing this:

The PCR (polymerase chain reaction) method uses an enzyme to multiply the HIV in the blood sample. Then a chemical reaction marks the virus. The markers are measured and used to calculate the amount of virus. Roche and Abbott produce this type of test.
The bDNA (branched DNA) method combines a material that gives off light with the sample. This material connects with the HIV particles. The amount of light is measured and converted to a viral count. Bayer produces this test.
The NASBA (nucleic acid sequence based amplification) method amplifies viral proteins to derive a count. It is manufactured by bioMerieux.

Different test methods often give different results for the same sample. Because the tests are different, you should stick with the same kind of test to measure your viral load over time.

Viral loads are usually reported as copies of HIV in one milliliter of blood. The tests count up to about 1 million copies, and are always being improved to be more sensitive. The first bDNA test measured down to 10,000 copies. Current tests detect as few as 20 copies. Ultra sensitive tests for research can detect less than 5 copies.

The best viral load test result is “undetectable.” This does not mean that there is no virus in your blood; it just means that there is not enough for the test to find and count. With the first viral load tests, “undetectable” meant up to 9,999 copies! “Undetectable” depends on the sensitivity of the test used on your blood sample.

The first viral load tests all used frozen blood samples. Good results have been obtained using dried samples. This will reduce costs for freezers and shipping.

 


HOW IS THE TEST USED?

The test is helpful in several areas:

  • For medical researchers, the test proved that HIV is never “latent” but is always multiplying. Many people with no symptoms of AIDS and high CD4 cell counts also had high viral loads. If the virus was latent, the test wouldn’t have found any HIV in the blood.
  • The test can be used for diagnosis, because it can detect a viral load a few days after HIV infection. This is better than the standard HIV (antibody) test, which can be “negative” for 2 to 6 months after HIV infection. (Fact Sheet 102 has more information on HIV antibody testing.)
  • For prognosis, viral load can help predict how long someone will stay healthy. The higher the viral load, the faster HIV disease progresses.
  • For prevention, viral load predicts how easy it is to transmit HIV to someone else. The higher the viral load, the higher the risk of transmitting HIV.
  • For managing therapy, the test shows treatment is controlling the virus. Current guidelines (Fact Sheet 404) suggest measuring baseline (pre-treatment) viral load. Treatment is “working” if it lowers viral load by at least 90% within 8 weeks. The viral load should continue to drop to less than 50 copies within 6 months. The viral load should be measured within 2 to 8 weeks after treatment is started or changed. It should be monitored every 6 months after that for patients with good adherence who have an undetectable viral load and have been clinically stable on their treatment for 2 or 3 years. According to the guidelines, treatment failure is indicated by a confirmed viral load above 200 copies.

 


HOW ARE CHANGES IN VIRAL LOAD MEASURED?

Repeated tests of the same blood sample can give results that vary by a factor of 3. This means that a meaningful change would be a drop to less than 1/3 or an increase to more than 3 times the previous test result. For example, a change from 200,000 to 600,000 is within the normal variability of the test. A drop from 50,000 to 10,000 would be significant. The most important change is to reach an undetectable viral load.

Viral load changes are often described as “log” changes. This refers to scientific notation, which uses powers of 10. For example, a 2-log drop is a drop of 102 or 100 times. A drop from 60,000 to 600 would be a 2-log drop.

 


"VIRAL LOAD “BLIPS”

Recently, researchers have noticed that the viral load of many patients sometimes went from undetectable to a low level (usually less than 500) and then returned to undetectable. These “blips” do not indicate virologic failure or that the virus is developing resistance.

 


WHAT DO THE NUMBERS MEAN?

There are no “magic” numbers for viral loads. We don’t know how long you’ll stay healthy with any particular viral load. All we know so far is that lower is better and seems to mean a longer, healthier life.

US treatment guidelines(See Fact Sheet 404) suggest that all HIV-positive people be offered treatment. For patients with viral load over 100,000, there is urgency for treatment.

Some people may think that if their viral load is undetectable, they can’t pass the HIV virus to another person. This is not true. There is no “safe” level of viral load. Although the risk is less, you can pass HIV to another person even if your viral load is undetectable.

 


ARE THERE PROBLEMS WITH THE VIRAL LOAD TEST?

There are some concerns with the viral load test:

  • Only about 2% of the HIV in your body is in the blood. The viral load test does not measure how much HIV is in body tissues like the lymph nodes, spleen, or brain. HIV levels in lymph tissue and semen go down when blood levels go down, but not at the same time or the same rate.
  • The viral load test results can be thrown off if your body is fighting an infection, or if you have just received an immunization (like a flu shot). You should not have blood taken for a viral load test within four weeks of any infection or immunization.

 



 


Back to Fact Sheet Categories



New Mexico AIDS Education and Training Center The University of New Mexico Health Sciences Center International Association of Providers of AIDS Care

 

The AIDS InfoNet is a project of the New Mexico AIDS Education and Training Center at the University of New Mexico Health Sciences Center,
and the International Association of Providers of AIDS Care.
webmaster@aidsinfonet.org

 

United States National Library of Medicine

Partially funded by the National Library of Medicine



Search Our Site
Newest Fact Sheets
Print This Fact Sheet
You can print this fact sheet on a single page in Microsoft Word (.doc) format or Adobe Acrobat (.pdf) format. Click on the links below to open the document in your browser and then print it.
 Adobe Acrobat PDF
 Microsoft Word

You can print directly from your browser using the link below. The printout will probably go onto a second page.
 Print Version (Web)

Monthly E-mail Updates

The InfoNet updates its Fact Sheets frequently. A listing of each month's changes is posted to several e-mail lists.

If you would like to receive this monthly update by personal e-mail, please provide your e-mail address below, and click on the "Submit" button.



Subscribe
Unsubscribe