AIDS InfoNet Logo
This website is certified by Health On the Net Foundation. Click to verify.
This site complies with the HONcode standard for trustworthy health information:
verify here.

The Henry J. Kaiser Family Foundation
Site of the Week
November 2003

The Health Leader Award 2006
The Health Leader Award 2006

The HOPE Reward

Med411.com Medical Award

HealthAtoZ.com Featured Site Award

BuscaSalud.com

IBS Tales Hope Award

HealingWell.com Editor's Choice Award

Listed in Listed in Treasures of the Internet


AIDS InfoNet Logo.  The AIDS InfoNet - Reliable, Up-to-Date AIDS Treatment Information
International Association of Providers of AIDS Care
Reviewed April 21, 2014

Fact Sheet 158

МИФЫ И ЗАБЛУЖДЕНИЯ О СПИДе



• ПОЧЕМУ ТАК МНОГО МИФОВ О СПИДе?
• МИФЫ О ПУТЯХ ПЕРЕДАЧИ
• МИФЫ О ЛЕЧЕНИИ
• СПИД –СМЕРТЕЛЬНЫЙ ПРИГОВОР?
• ПРАВИТЕЛЬСТВО ИЗОБРЕЛО СПИД, ЧТОБЫ УМЕНЬШИТЬ КОЛИЧЕСТВО МЕНЬШИНСТВ
• МИФЫ О МЕДИКАМЕНТАХ


 

 
ПОЧЕМУ ТАК МНОГО МИФОВ О СПИДе?
Когда о СПИДе только начали узнавать, это было очень загадочное заболевание. Оно вызвало смерти многих людей. И до сих пор есть много неотвеченых вопросов об этом заболевании. Многие люди отреагировали со страхом, и выступили с историями, которые бы обосновали их страхи. Большая их часть о том, как легко заразиться ВИЧ. И большая их часть –неправда.


МИФЫ О ПУТЯХ ПЕРЕДАЧИ
Многие люди верили, что ВИЧ и СПИД могут передаваться при укусе комара, при использовании одного стакана с ВИЧ-инфицированным, при нахождении в одной комнате с кашляющим ВИЧ-инфицированным, при поцелуях или объятьях с ВИЧ-положительным и так далее. Посмотри в информационный листок 150, для получения точной информации о том, как передается ВИЧ. Передача может произойти только через кровь, семенную или вагинальную жидкость или молоко (инф. листок 611) инфицированного человека. Нет фактов передачи ВИЧ через слезы или слюну инфицированного человека.

Миф: женщина с ВИЧ-инфекцией не может родить детей, не заразив их.

Реальность: Без лечения, ВИЧ-инфицированные матери передают ВИЧ новорожденным в 25% случаев. Однако, при применении современных лекарств во время беременности, этот уровень падает до 2%. Смотрите инф. листок 611 для получения большей информации о ВИЧ и беременности.

Миф: ВИЧ распространяют через иголки, оставленные на креслах кино и театров, а также в устройствах возврата монет в торговых автоматах.

Реальность: нет документального подтверждения передачи инфекции таким способом.


  МИФЫ О ЛЕЧЕНИИ
Может быть очень страшно заболеть ВИЧ или СПИД. Течение этого заболевания очень сложно предсказать. Некоторые люди заболевают очень сильно за несколько месяцев. Другие живут здоровой жизнью 20 и более лет. Лечение бывает сложно подобрать, бывают сильные побочные эффекты. Не всем подходят лекарства. Не удивительно, что мошенники предлагают некоторые «методы лечения» СПИД с помощью различного рода веществ. К сожалению, ни один из этих методов «лечения» не работает. Смотрите в инф. листок 206 чтобы узнать больше информации о мошенничестве, связанном со СПИД.
Очень плачевен миф, распространенный в некоторых частях света, о том, что секс с девственницей лечит СПИД. В результате, многие молодые девушки заразились ВИЧ и впоследствии получили СПИД. Нет никаких оснований, чтобы поддерживать подобные убеждения.
Миф: современные лекарства могут вылечить СПИД. Заболеть не страшно.

Реальность: современные лекарства снизили уровень смертности от СПИД на 80%. Их также стало легче принимать, чем раньше. Однако, у них до сих пор есть побочные эффекты, они очень дорогие, и их нужно будет принимать каждый день до конца своей жизни. Если Вы пропустите несколько приемов, ВИЧ может стать резистентным (см. инф. листок 126) к тем препаратам, которые вы принимаете и они перестанут работать.


СПИД –СМЕРТЕЛЬНЫЙ ПРИГОВОР?
В 1980х уровень смертности от СПИДа был очень высок. Однако, лекарства впечатляюще улучшились, а следовательно и продолжительность жизни с ВИЧ. Если у Вас есть доступ к антиретровирусной терапии (АРВ) и медицинскому обслуживанию, нет никаких причин, по которым бы вы не смогли прожить долгую жизнь, даже с ВИЧ инфекцией или СПИД.


ПРАВИТЕЛЬСТВО ИЗОБРЕЛО СПИД, ЧТОБЫ УМЕНЬШИТЬ КОЛИЧЕСТВО МЕНЬШИНСТВ
Лучшие ученые мира в правительственных и частных фармацевтических компаниях прикладывают все возможные усилия, чтобы остановить СПИД. У правительства нет потенциала, для разработки вируса.

Многие меньшинства не верят правительству, особенно в отношении здравоохранения. Недавнее исследование в Техасе показало, что 30% как Латино- так и Афроамериканцев считают, что ВИЧ –секретное оружие правительства для уничтожения меньшинств. Однако, похоже, что меньшинства получают более низкий уровень медицинского обслуживания в связи с теми же факторами, что и все остальные: низкий уровень дохода, неудобные поликлиники и т.д. Отношение к -здравоохранению и поставщиками медицинских услуг было намного менее важным.


МИФЫ О МЕДИКАМЕНТАХ
Для врачей было очень сложно подобрать лучшие лекарства против ВИЧ (АРВ) для своих пациентов. Когда изобрели первые лекарства, их нужно было принимать целых три раза в день. Для некоторых лекарств были необходимы особые условия хранения, или особая еда, с которой их нужно было принимать (или сколько времени после еды нужно прождать, прежде чем принять лекарство). Реальность АРВ удивительно изменилась. Однако, до сих пор есть некоторые мифы:
Миф: Вам необходимо пить лекарства строго каждые 12 (или 8 или 24) часа.

Реальность: лекарства сегодня явно более приемлемы. Хотя наиболее стойкий уровень лекарства в крови достигается, если их принимать через равные отрезки времени, в течение дня, они не перестанут работать если опоздать на час или два. Однако, людям принимающим Crixivan® (индинавир) без ритонавира нужно быть очень внимательным со временем приема.

Миф: нужно принимать 100% лекарства во время, иначе лекарство перестанет работать.
Реальность: очень важно принимать лекарства правильно. Фактически, если Вы пропустите 5% приемов, ВИЧ будет легче выработать резистентность (см. инф. листок 126) и размножаться даже если вы принимаете АРВ. Однако, 100% приверженность невозможна ни для кого. Делайте все что от Вас зависит и убедитесь, что Ваш врач в курсе того, что происходит.

Миф: современные лекарства настолько сильные, что Вы можете перестать их принимать (сделать передышку) без всяких проблем.
Реальность: с момента появления первых лекарств против СПИДа, пациенты хотели перестать их пить в связи с большим количеством побочных эффектов или просто в связи тем, что это напоминало им о диагнозе. Было много исследований о «перерывах в приеме лекарств» и все они показали, что прекращение приема АРВ, скорее всего, вызовет проблемы. Вы можете дать вирусу шанс размножиться (см. инф. листок 125 о вирусной нагрузке) или количество ваших клеток CD4 (см. инф. листок 124) может сократиться, сигнализируя о повреждении иммунитета.

 Миф: Лекарства против СПИДа –это яд, и они даже более опасны, чем ВИЧ.
Реальность: когда первые лекарства против СПИДа стали доступны, они не были так хороши, как современные препараты. Люди продолжали умирать от состояний, связанных со СПИДом. Это правда, что у некоторых людей были серьезные побочные эффекты от препаратов, но уровень смертности (от СПИДа) в США сократился на 80%. Исследователи делают все возможное, чтобы сделать препараты против ВИЧ проще и безопаснее для употребления.
 


Back to Fact Sheet Categories



International Association of Providers of AIDS Care

 

The AIDS InfoNet is a project of the International Association of Providers of AIDS Care.
webmaster@aidsinfonet.org

 

United States National Library of Medicine

Partially funded by the National Library of Medicine



Search Our Site
Newest Fact Sheets
Print This Fact Sheet
You can print this fact sheet on a single page in Microsoft Word (.doc) format or Adobe Acrobat (.pdf) format. Click on the links below to open the document in your browser and then print it.
 Adobe Acrobat PDF
 Microsoft Word

You can print directly from your browser using the link below. The printout will probably go onto a second page.
 Print Version (Web)

Monthly E-mail Updates

The InfoNet updates its Fact Sheets frequently. A listing of each month's changes is posted to several e-mail lists.

If you would like to receive this monthly update by personal e-mail, please click on the SUBMIT button.

SUBMIT

AIDS InfoNet Logo
This website is certified by Health On the Net Foundation. Click to verify.
This site complies with the HONcode standard for trustworthy health information:
verify here.

The Henry J. Kaiser Family Foundation
Site of the Week
November 2003

The Health Leader Award 2006
The Health Leader Award 2006

The HOPE Reward

Med411.com Medical Award

HealthAtoZ.com Featured Site Award

BuscaSalud.com

IBS Tales Hope Award

HealingWell.com Editor's Choice Award

Listed in Listed in Treasures of the Internet


AIDS InfoNet Logo.  The AIDS InfoNet - Reliable, Up-to-Date AIDS Treatment Information
International Association of Providers of AIDS Care
Reviewed April 21, 2014

Fact Sheet 158

AIDS Myths and Misunderstandings


 


WHY ARE THERE SO MANY AIDS MYTHS?
TRANSMISSION MYTHS
MYTHS ABOUT A CURE
AIDS IS A DEATH SENTENCE
THE GOVERNMENT DEVELOPED AIDS TO REDUCE MINORITY POPULATIONS
MYTHS ABOUT MEDICATIONS
 


WHY ARE THERE SO MANY AIDS MYTHS?

When AIDS first showed up, it was a very mysterious disease. It killed a lot of people. There are still many unanswered questions about the disease. A lot of people reacted with fear and came up with stories to back up their fear. Most of these stories had to do with how easy it was to get infected with HIV. Most of these are not true.

 


MYTHS ABOUT "CATCHING" HIV

Many people believed that HIV and AIDS could be transmitted by a mosquito bite, by sharing a drinking glass with someone with AIDS, by being around someone with AIDS who was coughing, by hugging or kissing someone with AIDS, and so on.

See fact sheet 150 for current information on how HIV is transmitted. Transmission can only occur if someone is exposed to blood, semen, vaginal fluid or mother’s milk (see fact sheet 611) from an infected person. There is no proven case of transmission from the tears, sweat, saliva or urine of an infected person.

Myth: A pregnant woman with HIV infection always infects her baby.
Reality: Without any treatment, HIV-infected mothers pass HIV to their newborns about 25% of the time. However, with modern treatments, this rate has dropped below 2%. See Fact Sheet 611 for more information about HIV and pregnancy.

Myth: HIV is being spread by needles left in theater seats or vending machine coin returns.
Reality: There is no documented case of this type of transmission.

 


MYTHS ABOUT A CURE

It can be very scary to have HIV infection or AIDS. The course of the disease is not very predictable. Some people get very sick in just a few months. Others live long, healthy lives. The treatments can be difficult to take, with serious side effects. Not everyone can afford the medications. It’s not surprising that scam artists have come up with several “cures” for AIDS that involve a variety of substances. Unfortunately, none of these “cures” work. Scientists are working hard on finding a cure for AIDS.  See fact sheet 206 for more information on frauds related to AIDS.

A very unfortunate myth in some parts of the world is that having sex with a virgin will cure AIDS. As a result, many young girls have been exposed to HIV and have developed AIDS. There is no evidence to support this belief.

Myth: Current medications can cure AIDS. It’s no big deal if you get infected.
Reality: today’s medications have cut the death rate from AIDS by about 80%. They are also easier to take than they used to be. However, they still have side effects, are very expensive, and have to be taken every day for the rest of your life. If you miss too many doses, HIV can develop resistance (see fact sheet 126) to the drugs you are taking and they can stop working.

 


AIDS IS A DEATH SENTENCE

In the 1980s, there was a very high death rate from AIDS. However, medications have improved dramatically and so has the life span of people with HIV infection. If you have access to AIDS medications and medical monitoring, there’s no reason you can’t live a long life even with HIV infection or AIDS.

 


THE GOVERNMENT DEVELOPED AIDS TO REDUCE MINORITY POPULATIONS

The world’s best researchers in government and in private pharmaceutical companies are working hard to try to stop AIDS. Scientists don't know how to create a virus.

Many minorities do not trust the government, especially regarding health care. A recent study in Texas found that as many as 30% of Latinos and African Americans believed that HIV is a government conspiracy to kill minorities. However, it seems that minorities get less health care for the same reasons as anyone else: low income, inconvenient health care offices, fear of being sick, and so on.

 


MYTHS ABOUT MEDICATIONS

It has been very challenging for doctors to choose the best anti-HIV medications for their patients. When the first drugs were developed, they had to be taken as many as three times a day. Some drugs had complicated requirements about storage, or what kind of food they had to be taken with, or how long you had to wait after eating before taking a dose. The medications have changed dramatically. However, there are still some myths:

Myth: You have to take your doses exactly 12 (or 8, or 24) hours apart.
Reality: Medications today are fairly forgiving. Although you will have the most consistent blood levels of your drugs if they are taken at even intervals through the day, they won’t stop working if you’re off by an hour or two. However, some drugs, like Crixivan (indinavir) can require careful timing.

Myth: You have to take 100% of your doses or else the drugs stop working.
Reality: It’s very important to take AIDS medications correctly. In fact, if you miss more than about 5% of your doses, HIV has an easier time developing resistance (see fact sheet 126) and possibly being able to multiply even when you’re taking your medications. However, 100% adherence is not realistic for just about anyone. Do the best you can and be sure to let your health care provider what’s going on.

Myth: Current drugs are so strong that you can stop taking them (take a drug holiday) with no problem.
Reality: Ever since the first AIDS drugs were developed, patients have wanted to stop taking them due to side effects or to stop being reminded that they had AIDS. There have been many studies of “treatment interruptions” and all of them have shown that stopping your ARVs can cause problems. You could give the virus a chance to multiply (see fact sheet 125 on the viral load) or your count of CD4 cells (see fact sheet 124) could drop, a sign of immune damage.

Myth: AIDS drugs are poison and are more dangerous than the HIV virus.
Reality: When the first AIDS drugs became available, they weren’t as good as current medications. People still died of AIDS-related conditions. It’s true that some people get serious side effects from AIDS medications, but the death rate in the US has dropped by about 80%. Researchers are working hard to make HIV treatments easier and safer to use.

 



 


Back to Fact Sheet Categories



New Mexico AIDS Education and Training Center The University of New Mexico Health Sciences Center International Association of Providers of AIDS Care

 

The AIDS InfoNet is a project of the New Mexico AIDS Education and Training Center at the University of New Mexico Health Sciences Center,
and the International Association of Providers of AIDS Care.
webmaster@aidsinfonet.org

 

United States National Library of Medicine

Partially funded by the National Library of Medicine



Search Our Site
Newest Fact Sheets
Print This Fact Sheet
You can print this fact sheet on a single page in Microsoft Word (.doc) format or Adobe Acrobat (.pdf) format. Click on the links below to open the document in your browser and then print it.
 Adobe Acrobat PDF
 Microsoft Word

You can print directly from your browser using the link below. The printout will probably go onto a second page.
 Print Version (Web)

Monthly E-mail Updates

The InfoNet updates its Fact Sheets frequently. A listing of each month's changes is posted to several e-mail lists.

If you would like to receive this monthly update by personal e-mail, please provide your e-mail address below, and click on the "Submit" button.



Subscribe
Unsubscribe