AIDS InfoNet Logo
This website is certified by Health On the Net Foundation. Click to verify.
This site complies with the HONcode standard for trustworthy health information:
verify here.

The Henry J. Kaiser Family Foundation
Site of the Week
November 2003

The Health Leader Award 2006
The Health Leader Award 2006

The HOPE Reward

Med411.com Medical Award

HealthAtoZ.com Featured Site Award

BuscaSalud.com

IBS Tales Hope Award

HealingWell.com Editor's Choice Award

Listed in Listed in Treasures of the Internet


AIDS InfoNet Logo.  The AIDS InfoNet - Reliable, Up-to-Date AIDS Treatment Information
International Association of Providers of AIDS Care
Reviewed February 4, 2014

Fact Sheet 511

САРКОМА КАПОШИ (СК)


САРКОМА КАПОШИ (СК)
• ЧТО ТАКОЕ СК?
• КАК ЛЕЧИТЬ СК?
• КАК ПРЕДОТВРАТИТЬ СК?
• КАКИЕ СПОСОБЫ ЛЕЧЕНИЯ СК ПРОХОДЯТ ИССЛЕДОВАНИЯ?
• ОСНОВНЫЕ МОМЕНТЫ


ЧТО ТАКОЕ СК?
Саркома Капоши (СК) - болезнь, похожая на рак. Первоначально она была известна как заболевание, распространенное среди пожилых мужчин родом из Восточной Европы и Средиземноморья. СК встречается также у африканских мужчин и людей с ослабленной иммунной системой. Сейчас наиболее распространенной причиной СК является ВИЧ-инфекция.
СК, как правило, проявляется на коже складок рта, носа или глаз. СК также может распространиться на легкие, печень, желудок, кишечник и лимфатические узлы. При СК развивается множество новых мелких кровеносных сосудов. Этот процесс называется ангиогенез. Вирус герпеса человека 8 (HHV-8) вызывает саркому Капоши. Недавнее исследование показало вероятность диагноза СК у мужчин с HHV-8 почти в 12 раз больше, чем у мужчин, у которых не было HHV-8.
СК поражает около 20% людей, больных СПИДом, которые не принимают препараты против ВИЧ. Уровень распространенности СК снизился более чем на 80% после введения сильной антиретровирусной терапии (АРТ). Однако в 2007 году ученые сообщили о новых случаях СК у людей с контролируемым вирусом ВИЧ. Эти новые случаи, как представляется, являются легкой формой и не опасны для жизни.
СК главным образом болезнь мужчин: на каждую женщину приходится 8 мужчин с СК. Это один из самых заметных признаков СПИДа, потому что она, как правило, проявляется как пятна (поражения) на коже, которые выглядят красными или фиолетовыми на белой коже, и голубоватыми, коричнево-черными или черными на темной коже. Поражения часто встречаются на лице, руках и ногах.

 СК на коже не угрожает жизни. Вместе с тем, поражения СК на ступнях и ногах могут затруднить ходьбу. Если СК распространяется на другие части тела, это может вызывать серьезные проблемы. Саркома Капоши на внутренней поверхности рта может вызывать проблемы питания и глотания. В желудке или кишечнике саркома Капоши может вызывать внутреннее кровотечение и закупорку сосудов. Если СК блокирует лимфатические узлы, это может вызывать серьезный отек рук, ног, лица или мошонки. Наиболее серьезная форма СК развивается в легких, в этом случае она может вызывать серьезный кашель, одышку или накопление жидкости, что может иметь роковые последствия.
СК часто можно диагностировать при осмотре кожи. Она, как правило, плоская, безболезненная без зуда или крови. Она может выглядеть как гематома, но гематомы теряют свой пурпурный цвет при надавливании, а поражения СК нет. Поражения СК могут вырасти в шишки или пятна и разрастаться. Ваш доктор может сделать забор небольшого образца кожи (биопсию) и изучить его под микроскопом для подтверждения диагноза СК.


КАК ЛЕЧИТЬ СК?
Сильная АРТ- это наилучшее лечение для активной формы СК. У многих людей АРТ может остановить рост или даже устранить поражения кожи. В дополнение к АРТ существуют различные виды лечения СК на коже или на других частях тела.
СК на коже, возможно, не следует лечить в том случае, если есть лишь несколько поражений. Кожные поражения могут быть:
• Заморожены жидким азотом,
• Обработаны с радиацией,
• Вырезаны хирургически,
• Сделана инъекция противораковых препаратов или интерферона альфа.
• Обработаны гелем «Пантерин» (ретиноидная кислота)
Эти процедуры касаются лишь поражений кожи, а не СК вообще. После лечения кожные поражения могут возникнуть снова.

 Если СК распространилась во внутренние органы, применяется системное медикаментозное лечение (лечение всего тела). Если АРТ недостаточно, могут быть добавлены лекарства доксорубицин (Doxil ®,) даунорубицин (DaunoXome ®) или паклитаксел (Таксол ®).
Doxil и DaunoXome являются противораковыми препаратами "липосомальной" формы. "Липосомальный" означает, что крошечные количества лекарства помещены в мелкие пузырьки жира (липосомы). Препараты этой формы действуют дольше и, вероятно, действуют в областях, где они нужны. Липосомальные формы препаратов снижают некоторые побочные эффекты.


КАК ПРЕДОТВРАТИТЬ СК?
Неясно, как распространяется HHV-8. Возможно, он распространяется через сексуальную активность и глубокие поцелуи. Как и при других оппортунистических инфекциях, здоровая иммунная система может контролировать инфекцию HHV-8. Лучший способ предотвратить СК - это применение сильных препаратов против ВИЧ и сохранение сильной иммунной системы.


КАКИЕ СПОСОБЫ ЛЕЧЕНИЯ СК ПРОХОДЯТ ИССЛЕДОВАНИЯ?
Подход анти-цитокинов: Существует много исследований цитокинов, белков, которые иммунная система использует для стимулирования роста клеток. Исследователи считают, что вещества, которые могут сдерживать эти (и аналогичные) факторы роста также могут замедлить рост СК.
Моноклональные антитела: Эти лекарства производятся с помощью генной инженерии. Их названия заканчиваются на "-маб", например бевацизумаб (bevacizumab).
Другие лекарства: Ученые изучают ряд лекарственных препаратов, которые замедляют разрастание новых кровеносных сосудов (ангиогенезис).


 ОСНОВНЫЕ МОМЕНТЫ
СК - это заболевание, поражающее до 20% людей, больных СПИДом, которые не принимают АРТ. Отчасти оно вызвано вирусом герпеса, который называется HHV-8.

 Лучшее лечение при СК - сильная антиретровирусная терапия (АРТ). СК на коже можно лечить различными способами, и это не является серьезной проблемой. СК во внутренних органах может угрожать жизни. Внутреннюю СК, как правило, лечат противораковыми препаратами.
Если вы заметили новые темные пятна на коже, обратитесь к вашему врачу, чтобы он осмотрел их для определения возможной СК.
 


Back to Fact Sheet Categories



New Mexico AIDS Education and Training Center The University of New Mexico Health Sciences Center International Association of Providers of AIDS Care

 

The AIDS InfoNet is a project of the New Mexico AIDS Education and Training Center at the University of New Mexico Health Sciences Center,
and the International Association of Providers of AIDS Care.
webmaster@aidsinfonet.org

 

United States National Library of Medicine

Partially funded by the National Library of Medicine



Search Our Site
Newest Fact Sheets
Print This Fact Sheet
You can print this fact sheet on a single page in Microsoft Word (.doc) format or Adobe Acrobat (.pdf) format. Click on the links below to open the document in your browser and then print it.
 Adobe Acrobat PDF
 Microsoft Word

You can print directly from your browser using the link below. The printout will probably go onto a second page.
 Print Version (Web)

Monthly E-mail Updates

The InfoNet updates its Fact Sheets frequently. A listing of each month's changes is posted to several e-mail lists.

If you would like to receive this monthly update by personal e-mail, please click on the SUBMIT button.

SUBMIT

AIDS InfoNet Logo
This website is certified by Health On the Net Foundation. Click to verify.
This site complies with the HONcode standard for trustworthy health information:
verify here.

The Henry J. Kaiser Family Foundation
Site of the Week
November 2003

The Health Leader Award 2006
The Health Leader Award 2006

The HOPE Reward

Med411.com Medical Award

HealthAtoZ.com Featured Site Award

BuscaSalud.com

IBS Tales Hope Award

HealingWell.com Editor's Choice Award

Listed in Listed in Treasures of the Internet


AIDS InfoNet Logo.  The AIDS InfoNet - Reliable, Up-to-Date AIDS Treatment Information
International Association of Providers of AIDS Care
Reviewed February 4, 2014

Fact Sheet 511

Kaposi's Sarcoma (KS)


WHAT IS KS?
HOW IS KS TREATED?
CAN KS BE PREVENTED?
WHAT ELSE IS BEING STUDIED FOR KS?
THE BOTTOM LINE


WHAT IS KS?

Kaposi’s sarcoma (KS) is a cancer-like disease. It originally was known as a disease affecting elderly men of Eastern European or Mediterranean background. KS also occurs in African men and people with a weakened immune system. The most common cause of KS now is HIV infection. KS is a sign of AIDS.

KS usually shows up in the skin, or in the linings of the mouth, nose, or eye. KS can also spread to the lungs, liver, stomach and intestines, and lymph nodes. KS involves the development of many new, tiny blood vessels. This process is called angiogenesis. KS is caused by a herpes virus called Human Herpes Virus 8 (HHV-8). In a recent study, men with HHV-8 were nearly 12 times more likely to be diagnosed with KS than men who did not have HHV-8

KS affects about 20% of people with AIDS who aren’t taking anti-HIV drugs. The rate of KS has dropped by over 80%since the introduction of strong antiretroviral therapy (ART). However, in 2007, scientists reported finding new cases of KS in people whose HIV is under control. These new cases seem to be mild and not life-threatening.

KS is mostly a disease of men: there are at least 8 men with KS for each woman. It is one of the most visible signs of AIDS, because it usually shows up as spots on the skin (lesions) that look red or purple on white skin, and bluish, brownish or black on dark skin. Lesions often occur on the face, arms and legs.

KS on the skin is not life threatening. However, KS lesions on the feet and legs can make it difficult to walk. If KS spreads to other parts of the body, it can cause serious problems. In the mouth lining, it can cause trouble eating and swallowing. In the stomach or gut, it can cause internal bleeding and blockages. If KS blocks lymph nodes, it can cause severe swelling of the arms, legs, face, or scrotum. The most serious form of KS is in the lungs, where it can cause a serious cough, shortness of breath, or an accumulation of fluid that can be fatal.

KS can often be diagnosed by looking at the skin lesions. They are usually flat, painless, and do not itch or drain. They can look like a bruise, but a bruise will lose its purple color if you push on it; a KS lesion won’t. KS lesions can grow into raised bumps or patches and grow together. Your health care provider might take a small sample (a biopsy) from skin spots to examine under a microscope and confirm a diagnosis of KS.

 


 HOW IS KS TREATED?

Strong ART is the best treatment for active KS. In many people, ART can stop the growth or even clear up skin lesions. In addition to ART, there are different treatments for KS in the skin or in other parts of the body.

In the skin, KS may not have to be treated if there are only a few lesions. Skin lesions can be:

  • Frozen with liquid nitrogen,
  • Treated with radiation,
  • Cut out surgically,
  • Injected with anti-cancer drugs or interferon alpha.
  • Treated with Panretin gel (retinoic acid)

These treatments only deal with the skin lesions, not with KS overall. Skin lesions may come back after treatment.

 If KS has spread into internal organs, systemic (whole-body) drug treatment is used. If ART is not enough, the drugs doxorubicin (Doxil,) daunorubicin (DaunoXome) or paclitaxel (Taxol) may be added.

Doxil and DaunoXome are anti-cancer drugs in “liposomal” form. “Liposomal” means that tiny amounts of drug are encased in small fat bubbles (liposomes). The drugs last longer in this form and seem to move to the areas where they’re needed. Some side effects are reduced with liposomal forms of drugs.

 


CAN KS BE PREVENTED?

It is not clear how HHV-8 spreads. It might be spread through sexual activity and deep kissing. As with other opportunistic infections, a healthy immune system can control HHV-8 infection. The best way to prevent KS is by using strong anti-HIV medications to keep your immune system strong.

 


 WHAT ELSE IS BEING STUDIED FOR KS?

Anti-cytokine approaches: There is a lot of research on cytokines, proteins that the immune system uses to stimulate cells to grow. Researchers think that substances that can inhibit these (and similar) growth factors can also slow down the growth of KS.

Monoclonal antibodies: These drugs are produced through genetic engineering. Their names end in “-mab,” such as bevacizumab.

Other drugs: Scientists are studying several drugs that slow down the development of new blood vessels (angiogenesis.)

 


 THE BOTTOM LINE

KS is a disease that affects up to 20% of people with AIDS who are not taking ART. It is partly caused by a herpes virus called HHV-8.

The best treatment for KS is strong antiretroviral therapy (ART.) KS in the skin can be treated in several ways and is not a serious problem. KS in internal organs can be life threatening. Internal KS is usually treated with anti-cancer drugs.

If you notice new dark spots on your skin, have your health care provider look at them to see if you might have KS.

 



 


Back to Fact Sheet Categories



New Mexico AIDS Education and Training Center The University of New Mexico Health Sciences Center International Association of Providers of AIDS Care

 

The AIDS InfoNet is a project of the New Mexico AIDS Education and Training Center at the University of New Mexico Health Sciences Center,
and the International Association of Providers of AIDS Care.
webmaster@aidsinfonet.org

 

United States National Library of Medicine

Partially funded by the National Library of Medicine



Search Our Site
Newest Fact Sheets
Print This Fact Sheet
You can print this fact sheet on a single page in Microsoft Word (.doc) format or Adobe Acrobat (.pdf) format. Click on the links below to open the document in your browser and then print it.
 Adobe Acrobat PDF
 Microsoft Word

You can print directly from your browser using the link below. The printout will probably go onto a second page.
 Print Version (Web)

Monthly E-mail Updates

The InfoNet updates its Fact Sheets frequently. A listing of each month's changes is posted to several e-mail lists.

If you would like to receive this monthly update by personal e-mail, please click on the SUBMIT button.

SUBMIT